भारतीय लोक प्रशासन संस्थान
Building Capacity for Good Governance


Paul H. Appleby

Paul Henson Appleby was born in Greene County, Missouri on September 13, 1891, to Andrew B. and Mary (Johnson) Appleby. He earned his A.B. from Grinnell College in 1913. He married Ruth Meyer on October 4, 1916. The couple had three children, Margaret Finley, Mary Ellen Sarbaugh, and L. Tom.

Appleby began his career as a newspaper publisher in Montana, Minnesota, and Iowa from 1914 through 1920. He was the editor of Iowa Magazine in Waterloo, Iowa from 1920-1924 and an editorial writer at the Des Moines Register and Tribune from 1924 until 1928. The family moved to Virginia in 1928 where Appleby again worked as a newspaper publisher until accepting a position with the U.S. government. Appleby served as the Executive Assistant to the Secretary of Agriculture from 1933 through 1940 and the Under Secretary of Agriculture from 1940 until 1944. He was also the Assistant Director of the U.S. Bureau of the Budget from 1944 through 1947. In 1947, Appleby moved to Syracuse, New York and became the Dean of the Maxwell School of Citizenship and Public Affairs.

Appleby also served as the Chief of the Food Mission to Great Britain in 1941-1942, chair of the International Wheat Conference in 1942, chair of the International Wheat Council from 1942 through 1944, Special Assistant to the Lend-Lease administrator from 1942-1943, and the Special Assistant to the Secretary of State in 1943. He was the U.S. delegate to the Hot Springs Food Conference in 1943, the U.S. member of the Interim Committee on Food and Agriculture for 1943-1944, a member of the Contributions Committee of the United Nations in 1946, a member of the board o the Institute of Public Affairs from 1947-1950, a board member of the Franklin D. Roosevelt Foundation in 1953, and other boards.

Paul H. Appleby died in 1963.


1.Big Democracy, 1945
2.Policy and Administration, 1949
3.Public Administration in India: A Report of a Survey, 1953
4.Re-examination of India’s Administrative System, 1956
5.Public Administration of a Welfare State, 1961
6.Citizens as Sovereigns, 1962
7.Morality and Administration in Democratic Government, 1969


Shri M. Venkaiah Naidu, President of IIPA honored the following members with the Paul H. Appleby Award for their distinguished services to the Institute and to the field of Public Administration at the Annual General Body Meeting held on 26th October, 2018:

Dr. Vivek K. Agnihotri
Prof. Upendra Baxi
Prof. Nand L. Dhameja
Shri Ajit Kumar Doval
Dr. P.R. Dubhashi
Shri S.G. Kale
Shri B.S. Ojha
Prof. A. Ranga Reddy
Shri R.C. Tripathi